Stepping out of the Shadows

So this is something I have been considering for a while, and as generally all I do here is let my thoughts fall on paper screen I thought why not gives these thought and airing too…

I am wondering what it would be like to ‘come out’ to the world, and admit to my nearest and dearest (and all of you) that this is my blog, and this is who I am.

Just to clarify, I am not going to suddenly give you all my name, address and invite you all to tea (although that would be awesome) but if I was less aware of trying to remain anonymous I would be able to post pictures on here without worrying that someone would identify me by my dogs, or my house.

I feel that trying to be 100% ‘off the record’ has held me back, and in some way limited what I can and can’t share (this fully explains the lack of pictures for example!)  On some levels it has freed me up, for example the one time I ranted about my work I wouldn’t have done had I known my boss could see it and some of the future posts I have planned would be easier to hit publish on while I can kid myself my identity is unknown.

But that nagging feeling of this holding me back, and limiting what I share on MY blog won’t go away.

Another reason I remained anonymous was for the ex. He (rightly) didn’t want his life shared online, and with an identifiable ginger collie (Bd) focusing heavily on a blog from Yorkshire… let’s just say you wouldn’t have had to be a maths genius to realise that 2 and 2 made 4. But now, with him taking Bd, I feel I owe him nothing. I don’t care if people who know us both find out I had a hard time with the break up, in fact I no longer care if he reads these posts.

The only people I do worry about is my folks. More than anything I would love to share this with them and celebrate with them as this blog develops and grows; but would I find myself censoring what I write because I knew they were reading? There was one post I wrote ranting at my dad, I worry how he would feel to read it and I worry if I knew he was going to see it if I would have written it in the first place? But this is my blog and I want to be able to share whatever I want to, without having thinking about other peoples feelings. I do that enough in the real world, I analyse and over-analyse everything to death. Here I am truly open, here I am truly me.

But then I would love for this blog to grow and I don’t think it can grow in the way I hope if I continue to censor the images I share. For example, more than anything I want to share before and after pictures of my house. Share with you all what I have achieved, but again if someone puts 2 and 2 together…

I’d love to hear your views on this? Do

10 thoughts on “Stepping out of the Shadows

  1. Share by all means just be careful. Remember never say something you would not want the world to know and don’t give any information that could lead to your indignity being stolen. Apart from those tips go share. Have a fabulous Friday.
    Best wishes Molly

  2. I am “out” – Julie is my name, although my surname online is a fake. However real life friends know my actual name and online name so it’s far from anon blogging for me. Sometimes I am jealous of those that manage to be truly anon but I couldn’t.

    • I am not planning on telling every little detail I will still be Lauranne and no surname, and the alias I have given my family and friends will stay. It would just be lovely to post pictures without worrying people would identify me through them – it’s whats made this a photo sparse space! (try saying that quickly 10 times!!)

  3. I think this really depends on how you see your blog and everyone will probably have a different opinion. I have had non anon blogs before but they were not as personal as my current one. The blog I have now is too personal, my emotions and feelings are completely unfiltered, some of those I would probably not even admit them to my own self, so I’d want to remain anon because it’s the only place where I feel I can just write whatever I feel at that moment (even if it does sound completely irrational the next day).

    I agree with Molly though, whatever your final decision is, just be careful in general.

    • Thanks. It’s the self censor ship which holds me back sharing with my friends and family, but I want to be able to share pictures without worrying people will know I am me. I think a happy medium may work for me!

  4. Sometimes it sucks having my family know about my blog, mostly because I can’t complain about them there. 🙂 But you know I’m pretty open with what I share.

  5. I would say consider it very carefully before you do anything – you can’t take it back once you do venture out a bit more. I sometimes wish that mine was more anonymous as there’s so much I want to say but can’t! Remember you could always delete the posts that you don’t want people to read if you do decide to ‘come out’ as it were…

Looking forward to hearing from you....?!

