A bad date

Three weeks. That’s how long I had been looking forward to it, Three whole weeks. From the moment I knew he was willing to travel to meet me in my home town and go out for dinner I knew.

For newer readers (I like to think there are some of you) I am a massive foodie. I love cooking new things and I adore eating out. However, with the new house, a tight budget, friends all saving like crazy and no ‘other half’ to treat me I can count on one hand the number of times I have been out to eat over the last 12 months. In fact, I am not fully convinced that my willingness to attempt online dating wasn’t fueled by the idea of lots of lovely restaurants, and meals out hopefully with him picking up the bill (after all I hope chivalry isn’t dead!)

I hadn’t been to this particular restaurant for a while. I had popped in for drinks to the bar bit, but not ventured into the restaurant.

I had decided within minutes what I wanted to order “prawn and chorizo salad for starters, confit belly pork with leeks and mash and a cider jus for main with a delicious looking chocolate orange pudding for desert”.

I asked him if we were doing starters. He said he would prefer to just do mains. Gutted I said goodbye to the prawns and chorizo (two of my favourite things). The waitress came and we placed our order.

5 minutes later the waitress returned to apologies. They had run out of his order and asked if he would like to see the menu again. He refused and said he just wouldn’t eat anything.

8 minutes later they came back to see if he had changed his mind. He hadn’t. They asked me what I wanted to do and I told them “It’s fine just cancel it all”.

I should have thought sod him and just ordered. But I worried too much what he would think, how it would look…and I think a little bit of me was in shock, who comes out for a ‘first’ dinner date comments he’s had nothing since breakfast and then doesn’t eat?!!

20 minutes in and the conversation had dried up. I looked around for help but the serving staff were giving us a wide burst. Understandable really after all who comes into a restaurant and then refuses to order food?!

30 minutes in and the only thing keeping me there was the notion that the date should at the very least last longer than his journey to come and meet me.

An hour in and I was wishing his pint away (seriously, an hour to drink one pint). I had supped my drink well over 40 minutes ago, and as the waitress was giving me a wide birth, I was amusing myself crunching on ice.

An hour and 10 minutes in I was starving. I had decided the guy was a definite no go and had decided ‘sod it’ I will just order food. Then it dawned on me the kitchen was closed.

An hour 15 minutes in he started mentioning how hungry he was, and how much he was looking forward to getting a takeaway when he got home. (It is here that I deserve an award for not telling him exactly what I thought about him!)

An hour and 30 minutes in, having spent the last 15 minutes tell me how hungry he was, he sighed and I told him if he was tired I was happy to end the date and let him get off. You have never seen me put my coat on so fast.

I let him walk me to the car, thanked him for making the effort to come and meet me and hightailed it to the nearest Chinese.

 

14 thoughts on “A bad date

  1. lol what a joke!! I would be so pissed. Why even bother going all that way to be a weirdo about it, atleast he could have said… let’s go somewhere else. Boo on him. I have a guy who is willing to fly here (its a twelve hour drive) but still haven’t decided if Im going to allow it. I don’t know him well enough to know if it’s going to be a “bad date” and then feel obligated to spend consecutive days entertaining him lol.

    • Definitely get to know him better first, it was bad enough suffering through and hour and 49 minutes because he had traveled 40 minutes!! And the really annoying thing was we had been speaking fora few months so I thought “very worse, good food and a decent conversation” how wrong was i!!

  2. Oh wow. A dinner date certainly can reveal some key personality traits (that youre gonna want to avoid!!)

    On the plus side, it’s awesome blogging material 🙂

  3. How odd! I could understand it if he’d said there was nothing else he liked on the menu and suggested going elsewhere.
    Has he contacted you since?

    • One message. I sent him one thanking him for making the effort to come and meet me and wished him the best of luck in his search. He responded saying ditto and commenting he had made it home quicker as he was so hungry he really put his foot down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Looking forward to hearing from you....?!

