All in a days work!

Today is not my day. I know it is still only early (or is at the time of writing!) but I am going to go out on a limb and call it not my day!

It started off with me losing the daily “shall I get out of bed” battle. Things are… complicated… at work and I am feeling less and less appreciated or valued. Annoyingly I have this thing coping mechanism, which I have had since I was a child, where if I don’t want tomorrow to come I just stay awake all night… cause if I don’t sleep it can’t be tomorrow. I know it makes no sense, but it’s a habit I am struggling to break meaning. So I currently average 5 – 6 hours a night. I know to some of you that will seem like a lot, but for me it makes it VERY hard to get up in the morning. Add to that a cold bedroom and absolutely no desire to go to work… I am currently playing how late can I get out of bed and still make it to work on time (answer 8.30am for a 9am start!)

Then my shoe rack fell on me as I was rushing out the door on my way to work. It brought 3 pairs of shoes down on me. It didn’t hurt and more importantly it didn’t damage any of my wallpaper (yes that was my bigger concern) however it did manage to slow me down, which I really didn’t have time.

I then got into work and proceeded to blow up the kitchen!

I don’t know how I did it. I was checking on the porridge I was cooking for breakfast (there is no way I can eat and get to work in less than 20 minutes) and suddenly a microwave that was working, wasn’t. In fact the whole kitchen wasn’t working.

Luckily single life has at the very least gotten me out of the habit of thinking ‘oops’ and running to find the nearest man to fix it. So I used my detective skills and realised I had blown the fuse for the kitchen. I located the fuse box, flicked the switch and voila. However, the microwave was still broken. I tried a new fuse in the microwave, still dead. I tried another 4 fuses in the microwave and nothing – suddenly the homemade soup I had brought for lunch was looking less appetising!

7 fuses, an electrician and an entire strip down later (to clarify the microwave was stripped down by the electrician. Neither the electrician or myself thought that taking our clothes off would rectify the situation!) and the microwave has officially been labelled as dead.

It wouldn’t be so bad but this is the 3rd works microwave I have broken in a row!

4 thoughts on “All in a days work!

Looking forward to hearing from you....?!

