Is it just me?

When I moved into my place I decided to treat myself and sign up for TalkTalk. My parents have it and so I know when it works it is amazing. The navigation is simple, the features are fab and all in all I love it. The only flaw is when it doesn’t work it is bloody useless. For the last few weeks I have had a few shows ‘fail to record’. For a normal person I am sure this is no biggy….. but for me who has a newly found and loved routine of coming in from work, cooking tea, making lunch for the next day and then treating herself to an hour of Charmed recorded from earlier in the day, when the ‘fail to record’ message appears my whole world kind seems a little less sunny!

Yesterday it yet again failed to record. However, rather than announcing loudly how much I ‘hate technology’ I decided this time the error lied with me as I had not found time to carry out the compulsory re-tune that had to take place on the 3rd. So when the “please retune this box….. blah, blah blah… press blue for more info, press yellow to remove” finally re-appeared on the screen (it was on every day leading up to the 3rd, then on the actual day, could I get it up to find out what to do? could i heck as like!)

Feeling like this was destiny I pressed blue for more information. The instructions were simple:

– Go to Menu

– Select settings

-Select re-tune

(*Please note they may not be the actual words, but it’s the gist!)

I was feeling confident. Another task I would accomplish to prove to myself I don’t need a man. I took my remote in one hand and…..

$_58

Can ANYONE see the menu button? I must have spent half and hour pressing every button I could find.

I learnt how to turn subtitles ‘on’ and ‘off’. I learnt how to turn audio description ‘on’ and ‘off’ (If we want to be honest I learnt that my Tv has subtitles and audio descriptions!!)

Half an hour I spent starring at the bl*^$y remote. In desperation I pressed the help button – this annoyed me more – “For help please visit http://www.somewebsiteIdontwanttovisit.com” I am sure I don’t need to tell you have helpful that little message was!

Finally in desperation I gave up and decided I would just abandon and accept I was a failure. Turns out the ‘settings’ are hidden next to the tv guide, recording schedule and everything else I access on a daily basis and to access them you just need to press the big blue button!

Luckily steps 2 and 3 were significantly easier than step one and I re-tuned no problem. The only problem is that I now no longer have a working guide section so I have no idea what is one tv – but I am sure I can over come that with similar ease…. or I’ll give in an call customer services!

8 thoughts on “Is it just me?

  1. Don’t talk to us about tvs and remote controls my sister can’t figure out how to work the BT box and we had it here for years. Mind you that goes with anything else more technical than a light switch, At least you got somewhere. Have a marvellous Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

  2. You need to come to the states, our DVR’s are simple. Plus most of our shows are “on demand” so if it fails to record you can catch it elsewhere. 🙂

  3. Arg! Sometimes instructions are so complex it even a genius can’t figure them out. I’ve been trying to figure out how to adjust the sound on my TV for several months. The background noise is so loud that I can’t hear the people talking. I’ve tried every menu item I can think of and still can’t get it right.

    Jodi, all I can say is 😛

  4. You perfectly summed up why I’m so glad I don’t have a television. All those remotes!

    My parents are in their 70s and think I’m crazy for all the time I spend on the computer. But they have 3 remotes to link up their television with their Netflix and Roku accounts.

    When I visit, I don’t even know how to turn the tv on.

    Don’t forget that every time you sit down to enjoy a favorite show to praise yourself for figuring out the re-tune sequence. And try not to think about the fact that your experience probably qualifies you to launch a nuclear missile.

Looking forward to hearing from you....?!

