I have the most amazing friends in the world.

This weekend one of my very best girl friends came to stay with me. She is going through a similar heart-breaking break up, in fact we both moved out of our ‘marital’ homes on the same weekend. It’s been brilliant having someone going through a very similar situation at the same time. We seem to be enjoying slightly different journeys (when I’m up she’s down and vice versa) but on the whole. She knows what to say, what not to say, knows how you go from fine to the opposite of fine and agrees that despite everything her ex has put her through; she too would go back if given half the chance; although like me she knows she really shouldn’t and he does not deserve her!

Anyway, while crying on her on Saturday night (like I said, not the best weekend!) I made a throw away comment about how one of the things I missed was BD creeping up the stairs and coming to wake me on a morning. The ex was always amazing at bringing me a cup of coffee while I was still in bed (he managed this every morning Mon – Fri) and BD would accompany him into the room. His wet nose and smiling face would be one of the first things I would see and I loved it. I would wait for the ex to leave and then I would invite BD to join me on the bed, where we would cuddle until I had to get up.
However, now I live alone there is no one to bring me a drink in bed and more upsettingly this means there is no one to let BD out of the room he sleeps in which allows him to sneak up and join me in bed. Something I really miss. I told my friend this.

The Sunday morning, as I am considering getting up I hear paws on the stairs and see a big black nose, followed by ginger head come around my bedroom door.
My lovely friend had gotten up before me and let him out of the bathroom so he could come and cuddle me.

I cried. Hell I’m crying now as I type this.

He headed straight for the mattress I was sleeping on and lay down next to me with his head on my pillow. He cuddled into me so tight…. It was perfect. I just lay there, basking in the moment, trying to savour ever second.

I love BD so much and I miss him so much.

And I love my friend so much. It wasn’t a big thing, but it meant the world to me and those 30 minutes I would not trade for all the tea in china.

I am a very lucky girl!!

4 thoughts on “I have the most amazing friends in the world.

  1. Truthfully the best things in life are free and a moments consideration and understanding from someone else can mean more than anything money can buy. Treasure that precious moment and your wonderful kind and loving friend.
    Have a super Saturday.
    Best wishes Molly

Looking forward to hearing from you....?!

