I’m loving the single life!

I am not a morning person, add to that the feelings about my job and staying up far too late to finish a good book and getting up when my alarm goes off is a real struggle. I have tried to initiate a new morning routine. Alarm goes off, hit snooze 3 times until you get the ‘turn me off, fall asleep and you’re screwed screen’ and the I properly wake up and argue with myself about getting up.

I head downstairs and start running the bath (I still don’t have a shower). Have breakfast while waiting for bath to get to acceptable level. Once breakfast is finished, turn off bath, burn left foot by putting it into the bath. Pull foot out while muttering, turn on cold tap and brush teeth.

Wash face. Have bath – length varies depending on what time I finally dragged my butt out of my bed. Go upstairs get dressed, retrieve lunch from fridge (which was prepared the night before) lock all doors. Check you have locked all doors at least twice. Leave the house and due to your new 5 minute commute arrive early at your desk.

However this morning I didn’t want to get up. I knew I had to. I didn’t even have time to hit snooze – I had failed to pack for a trip to my friends the night before so as well as the above I had to throw some clothes and toiletries into a bag. However, my duvet was just too warm and just to comfy, Then the lightening bolt struck.

I live alone.

I can do whatever I want, whenever I want.

So I dragged myself out of bed, taking my duvet with me. I wrapped it round me like a cocoon and carried it downstairs. Where it was dumped on the settee while I made breakfast, before I returned to it to eat my breakfast. It was bliss.

I think it was in that moment I realised I am totally free. I can do what I want when I want. I can make plans and don’t have to check with someone else. I have a new freedom and I’m loving it.

Yes, it’s not always perfect, there are things about being in a relationship that I miss, and there are moments when I suddenly miss him like crazy. But those moments are few and far between and on the whole this single think rocks!!

6 thoughts on “I’m loving the single life!

  1. Being single or living alone it’s incredibly good!
    I’m not single anymore, haven’t been for years, but thanks to our jobs we get to live alone for days/weeks in row, in a way helps us. Otherwise I’d be in jail for murder.
    On a different note, how you people manage to hit the snooze button over and over?
    It drives me nuts when the other person has to wake up and I have to stay in, and keeps hitting the snooze every 5 minutes.
    My alarm goes off and I jump out of bed, otherwise it feel like torture.
    Have a nice weekend!

  2. That’s great, I am so glad you are able to embrace the positives! In a lot of ways I do miss living alone as well. There was no one to judge my obsession with 90’s romantic comedies or to tell me half a block of cheese is an inappropriate meal. It had a charm that I certainly enjoyed.

    I hope you have a lovely time with your friends!

  3. Yes doing what you want when you want has got to be a bonus. Methinks duvet time on the sofa over a weekend is the height of decadence. Add to it rubbish TV and go girl. Have a super Saturday.
    Best wishes Molly

Looking forward to hearing from you....?!

