You have to get one of these!!

As my DIYing continues I am pleased to say my skills and knowledge are growing, and despite a couple of dips I am still thoroughly enjoying the experience. In fact I now feel sorry for my numerous female friends who (I hope) will never have this life experience and my friend who is buying her own house and keeps saying she will rope me in for DIY advice has me giddy.

I now know how to mix plaster, although apparently referring to it as concrete takes away some of my ‘I am knowledgeable and know what I am doing’ street cred. My plumbing still isn’t leaking (touch wood it stays that way) and there are numerous jobs that I would have once thought I was unable to do which I now do without thinking. It is an amazing experience and I would encourage every one to take on a similar challenge at least once in your life. Maybe don’t go down the thrown out by the guy you loved so no other choice route, instead perhaps just claim a room as your own and see what you can achieve.

Anyway, for a few evening I have been itching to get started on sanding down the walls. I have stripped them, pulled out wall plugs (ouch that hurt!) plastered them, filled them.. I almost know every square inch like the back of my hand. But I have never been able to sand them as there has been other more pressing jobs to do.

This all changed last night, after the tip run. Having wasted some time playing silly fools I decided enough was enough. It was my house, I wanted to sand and sand I would. OMG. most. fun. ever. I loved it. I enjoyed every second. I loved picking the grade of sandpaper – yes, without been told I knew that sandpaper is graded and knew how to pick the right one for me job. I loved figuring out the cool wire things I had to pull to release and attach the sheets. And I loved pressing the button to make it start, pressing it against the wall and watching the cloud of dust billow out. I even loved the mess and the fact that I am still pulling the dust out of my hair. And the best bit is I still have at least 20 walls to do!!!

4 thoughts on “You have to get one of these!!

  1. Haha! I could tell you loved that just from reading your post!! Such passion put into it! Have fun sanding the rest of your 20 walls to do. The cleaning up after sucks though doesn’t it.

Looking forward to hearing from you....?!

