Never blog in Anger

I’m sure that’s one of the rules to blogging. Always make sure you have a clear head and are calm and relaxed so you don’t say something you will later regret, but I am afraid I have to vent and so…

Today I made a major step forwards in getting over some of my post bullied in the work place issues. I have been drowning under my work load for the last few months, which I may have previously mentioned, and today I decided to do something about it. I went to my boss and admitted I am not coping with my current work load and that I felt bad complaining as everyone else is in a very similar place but I am starting to let deadlines slip and I am worried that this will reflect badly on me and I will get into a downwards spiral resulting in unemployment – yep I always take any scenario to the worst degree!

The very helpful advice I received from my boss “perhaps you should start coming into work a couple of hours early”. I pointed out that I never leave on time and he admitted he had noticed this. But that was all the advice I was given.

WTF? Oh and because it is such a lovely place this place I call work he also pointed out that there is no overtime and would not be any overtime if I work even longer hours.

My long hours of work was a regular argument when I was living with OH and it would wind him up something chronic I would walk through the door an hour and a half after I finished work because I had ‘just stayed late to finish one more thing’ and so we couldn’t go on our dog walk, or have date night or anything else I had planned. This wasn’t a one of, every single night I would leave work late, and now it looks like I’m going to be coming in early too!

10 thoughts on “Never blog in Anger

  1. No!!! Don’t do it. Your boss is taking complete advantage of you and this is completely unfair. I’d start looking for another job NOW. Question, do you get unemployment if you’re fired? If so, it may be worth it to tell your boss that you’re going to do the best you can and get as much work done in a normal work day as you can. But if you can’t get your work done in a normal work day, then it means he is giving you too much work. And it is unfair for him to expect you to work overtime to do more than a fair share if he is not going to pay you for it. I know it probably isn’t the best scenario if you’re trying to get a house. But the best way to keep bullies from bullying you is to stand up for yourself and not give in. Here’s a good article about boss bullies – http://www.bankrate.com/brm/news/advice/bully-boss1.asp

    • I’ll have a look thanks!! I have been playing at looking for a while but after having a company practically offer me a job to withdraw at the last moment I am now kind of worried. Plus I get no leave here and so can’t justify taking a day for a single interview.

  2. Here’s a gentler suggestion for confronting your boss… Start keeping a journal of what you are doing at work. Document each task you do and how long you are working on it. Be specific. 8:00 – 8:30, you did this. Then 8:30 – 10:00, you did this. If you take a break, indicate that too and be specific about how much time spent on it so that your boss can’t say he saw you taking a break when you said you were working. Then, go to your boss with your journal and say, “This is what I am doing and how long it takes me. I need to get my job done within normal work hours. Can you help me figure out how I can do these tasks faster without cutting back on quality?”

    • That I like and I have done before when I was being bullied in the last place I worked, but it’s so horrible justifying you ever second I don’t want to go back there. I am going to give the longer hours a try for 6 months and hope I am rewarded with a decent bonus and pay rise. If i am not I am out of here!!

  3. You start when you are suppose to and leave when your suppose too. Sod this doing all extra hours for Nothing! Got to toughen up girl, even your boss is taking P***. Hugs xxoxxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  4. It’s a bad employment market at present and I think a lot of people are under pressure to do too much. I think you need to work out where the pressure in your company is coming from (for example: is your boss under pressure because the company won’t employ more people?) It still doesn’t excuse your boss’s behaviour because he / she should be able to help you with your priorities when you can’t achieve everything within the working day. You can try to cover yourself by making sure that the appropriate person knows if you’re not going to meet a deadline and why.

    • I love how you are always so reasonable and wise!!Confronting my boss and admitting to struggling was a massive thing for me and now he is aware that I am stressed so if things do go down hill I can say ‘I told you so’ so I’m biding my time until I find my millionaire!!

Looking forward to hearing from you....?!

