Oops

I know I have said this before but it really isn’t easy being me. Without even trying I seem to get myself into situations where I end up in some situation which could easily be featured on a soap or some sort of comedy sitcom – well they could be but no-one would believe them!

This happened yet again to me today. The day started off pretty well, for the first time in a while I had slept the night through and woke up ahead of my alarm feeling refreshed and ready for the day (this should have been my first warning). I snoozed my alarm a couple of times. I factor this snooze addiction in to alarm set time and therefore set my alarm 15 minutes before I need to get up so that I can snooze multiple times and still not be late. So I got up on time and heading into the bathroom – this is where my morning fell apart!

I spent 35 minutes in the bathroom. Yep I you read that right, I spent 35 minutes in the bathroom. Even now I have no idea how! I did have a new toothbrush that I was using, and I did wash my hair but I am normally out between 10 – 20 minutes, so what was I doing to use up those extra 15 minutes?
I got out of the shower the time I normally leave the house. Just because the world is that way out today I then couldn’t find my trousers for work. Those I could find still had the labels attached (they were bought from a supermarket without trying on, and I am waiting until I have a thin day to try them) so I decided to wear the same skirt as yesterday but this meant finding a different top. By this point I was very late!
I raced out of the house (literally) and down the road to my car. Prayed for good traffic, turned the corner and ran into the first of many queues of traffic – grr!

At this point I knew I was going to be at least 10 minutes late for work and so (whilst stationary – for all those law enforcement officers out there!) I grab my phone and shot of a quick text to my office manager, explaining I was late, that I would make up the time at the end of the day and I was sorry. I put the phone back on the passenger seat. I noticed that my bosses name hadn’t come up as it normally does, but I don’t know any other ‘Daves’ and so I shrugged it off and continued driving to work maintaining the correct speed limit at all times! ;0)

I arrived at work, only a little late, and apologised to my boss asking if he’d received my text. He said no. At this point I went back into my bag to find my phone to check the message had definitely sent; it had. However I don’t know about you, but I have a smart phone where it merges your entire life together (which I really hate) and automatically adds anyone who has their phone number on that well know social network into my contact list. I’m not very fussy with my friends list on this network. I never share anything that I wouldn’t be willing to shout from the roof tops and I have very few personal details on it.
So my friends lists including people who I don’t particularly know, people who I last spoke to some year ago, exes that where promises of continued friendships were made, guys I meet on nights out and don’t want to give my phone number to and one guy who was a very good friend, but we stopped talking about 5 years ago. We stopped talking because I told him I fancied him and asked if he fancied going out on a date. We stopped talking because despite me thinking I was reading signs that he felt that same way he wasn’t. We stopped talking because although I could deal with that, knew how he felt and was happy to move on as friends he couldn’t (which I so get as I think if roles were reversed I would have been the same!). We stopped talking 5 years ago……until this morning. This morning I text him out of the blue to tell him that I was running late for work!

9 thoughts on “Oops

  1. Ahh yes, the old “mis-text”…very annoying! My recent ex used to mis-text me on purpose tp try and get a rise out of me…also annoying.

Looking forward to hearing from you....?!

