A different kind of dog walk

So yesterday morning I told you about the lovely walk I had with BD around the village I used to live in. So I thought it was only fair to tell you about the evening walk Mity went on last night..

Last night mine and Mity’s evening walk was supposed to involve walking up to meet my parents from a local pub. However you know what they say about best laid planes….

Everything started better than usual, as I did not have to play the usual game of retrieve Mity from under the dining room table and force him to go out on the walk. Mity does not enjoy walks if it is cold, wet, damp, hot in fact Mity can be stood at the door signalling he wants to go outside and when I get up to take him out he runs and hides. He will also do this to go potty in the garden – if it is peeing it down, he will stick his nose out and decide he will hold it before returning to his bed!

We set off on our walk as usual, with Mity inspecting and peeing on every single blade of grass and leaf we walk past – you cannot walk this dog in a hurry! Before squatting to do his business at the first large area of grass we came to. This is where the walk seemed to fall apart some what. As Mity relieved himself I began the first battle with the poo bags. I don’t know why but I can’t separate plastic bags, be it in the supermarket, a freezer bag or a poo bag I always stand and struggle for a few minutes before someone takes pity on me and takes over. Last night, having removed my gloves I must have spent 5 minutes trying to get the stupid bag to open – luckily these bags have clearly marked open ends so this time I was not wasting time trying to identify which end of the bag should open, but still five minutes in the freezing cold! In the end I had to lick my fingers to get the bag to open (this is a first poo trick only!) and then spent a few minutes playing my favourite game of ‘hunt the poo’.

Having hunted all the poo, and double checked a few times that I had picked it all up. I put a not in the bag and went to put it in the poo bin which is conveniently next to this piece of grass. Now, it was very cold last night, OK not Canadian cold but ‘freeze the poo bin lid to the rest of the poo bin’ cold. So I then had to yank, pull, threaten and plead with the poo bin to allow me to put my bag in the bin. Finally the bin took pity on me, opened the lid, I dropped in the bad announced to Mity we were going to go meet ‘Mum and Dad’, pulled back on my gloves and turned to find Mity has found a second place and was relieving himself with his second poo of the night.

Gloves off, bags fought with (yes this time the bag went into my mouth to try and get it open – there was no way I was licking my fingers) and placed the second bag in the poo bin in time to find my parents coming around the corner wondering where we were and asking why I had only just set off when they had given me plenty of warning. Not quite the nice evening walk Mity and I were expecting!

2 thoughts on “A different kind of dog walk

  1. Oh no! I have that same issue. Perhaps open the bags before you go for the walk. Still, the gloves have to come off. I don’t know about anyone else, buy picking up poo with gloves on just doesn’t work out very well.

Looking forward to hearing from you....?!

