i could learn a lot from my dog

1086

So things got a little more stressful at home this week. BD and Mity have been getting along ok. It has been one good session and one bad. BD lifts his tail and stiffens when Mity walks past, and sometimes Mity will change his path to walk around BD (however if he is in the mood he will walk under his nose multiple times, just because he can!)

Friday night Mity was at my sisters house as mum and dad were out and my sister had organised to Mity sit long before I moved home. So I organised that I would have BD for the evening. It meant he could be unmuzzled for the evening and for a few precious hours it would be just like old times. And it was. We cuddled on the settee, we played chase, we did tricks, he licked the tears from my nose – I loved every second.

When Mity came home BDs muzzle went back on and the rest of the evening went past like any other visit. However for the first time Mity refused to sleep when we went to bed. He was unsettled and kept my folks, he sleeps in their room, awake all night. BD has stopped over before, where he is locked downstairs in his tent and before this evening we have never had any problems – they both settled this way fine on bonfire night with fireworks going off!

The next morning BD decided he would climb onto Mitys spot on the settee. BD was instantly told “off” and he didn’t even get all four paws on the settee but Mity responded by cocking his leg on the corner of the couch. We didn’t go ape at him or tell him off but he can’t do that.

The worrying this is this isn’t Mity. He hasn’t had an accident inside since he was a puppy any that have happened have been our fault for not realising he was stood at the door. He won’t even pee if we take him into town and has spent hours with us encouraging him to go where he waits and holds it until he gets to a less densely populated area. Yet he intentionally cocked his leg.

If this goes on I can’t have BD – I can’t stress out Mity and will not put either of them through something they don’t enjoy for my own selfishness. Yet at the moment the only days I want to get out of bed is when I am getting up to walk BD and I am literally living for his next visit. Also when things went down hill and MD spent those evenings cuddled with me as I sobbed into his fire I told him I would not leave him and walk away not matter what happened (his fear aggression came about when OH separated from his ex and they took a dog each.)

HELP!!!

4 thoughts on “i could learn a lot from my dog

  1. It’s different for Mity to spend an evening away from home and then come back and find BD there. For Mity spending time at your sister’s would be exciting, or slightly stressful, unless it’s something that happens regularly. So the reaction to BD is stronger because he wasn’t as relaxed to begin with.

    • Good point, I hadn’t thought about him being stressed about being in a new situation (turns out his was at her boyfriends parents home, and spent the entire evening pulling things out from under counters) thanks for the perspective!

  2. Routine helps. Getting both of them in a regular routine will make them more comfortable. I’m new to this blog, so I’m not understanding the muzzle. Is it because they fight?

    • BD has fear aggression issues and little in the means of bite inhibition. BD does not like dogs or anyone near his face and sometimes other dogs don’t pick up on his warning (or once stupidly myself) I will not be responsible for BD biting Mity or any other dog, so if we see a dog nearby when out walking or BD and Mity are both wandering around together in the house BD is muzzled. Hope that makes sense?

Looking forward to hearing from you....?!

