Should I be allowed to adopt?

So I am determined not to fall back into that ‘my world is ended, my heart is shattered’ funk that I was in before and so I am going to wrote about something very close to my heart and I would love to know what you think about this. It is a very straight forward question that I am going to ask you:

Should someone who works full time be allowed to adopt a rescue dog?

In my current line of work I am in regular contact with various rescues across the UK, and whenever I talk to them I can’t resist looking through the pages of their websites. Page after page of dogs, cats, rabbits, guinea pigs, horses, gerbils (you name it it needs rescuing!) and I look into each of their eyes and ask myself could I give this one a home. Then there are the other lists that do the rounds “Save today, tomorrow they will be put to sleep” and I look again into their faces and pray that someone, anyone will come forwards and save these souls.

OH and I talked about adopting another dog, however this led to the conversation as to whether or not we would be allowed to adopt. OH didn’t adopt BD, apparently he looked into adopting but was told that he wouldn’t be allowed due to working more than 4 hours a day, meaning BD is alone a lot of the time (and I felt so guilty every single morning as I would give him a kiss on the nose and tell him his dad would be back later). I became a woman obsessed buying any kind of time killing toy I could find to try and relieve some of my guilt – I digress. Every evening we would come home, take BD on a long evening walk, do a little training, and then usually would spend the evening together, with him curled up on me on the settee. We very rarely went out in an evening as BD had been alone most of the day and it didn’t seem fair. Weekends would usually involve long dog walks across fields, and until I fell out with the stupid trainer (another story) BD and I went to agility for 2 hours every Sunday.

Yet, when you read all of the adoption requirements for every rescue we would not be allowed to adopt one of their dogs. I know that being alone for a large portion of the day is not ideal, and I am sure I am not alone wishing that I could work from home so I would never need to leave my dog, however for the foreseeable future this is not going to happen and so I am potentially going to be dogless until I retire. I don’t know about you, but when I think of all those dogs who spend hours alone in kennels, those thousands of animals sentenced to death because a home has not been found. Although not ideal I can’t help but feel that a life, no matter how un-ideal, is better lived? That being a part of a family is better than weeks alone in kennels?

I would love to know what you think?!

6 thoughts on “Should I be allowed to adopt?

  1. I think that the rescues should be more flexible and have guidelines rather than rules.
    It should depend on the dog and whether the person is prepared to find someone to maybe visit the dog in the middle of the day if needed – things like that.

    • Hi Clowie, I am going to echo what I have said to Mollie and Alfie. The idea of a dog home alone for most of the day is awful and I hate it, but thinking of those dogs been put to death – tricky! X

  2. We are on the same track as Clowie. I don’t believe it is fair to leave a dog all day at home alone. Having some one pop in during the day would be an idea. I agree with you that giving a dog a home from a Shelter , he or she would have a far better life, If a good run in the morning, leaving at home is better than sitting in cage. I have kind of contradicted myself but looking at it from all angles, a loving home has to beat a shelter LOL
    xxxooxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • It’s a tough one and I can see both sides of the coin as well. I’m not saying I should be allowed a dog, but the idea of not being able to own one until I potentially retire is hard and also I can’t help but thinking of all those dogs looking for forever homes when I could give them one – tricky!

  3. Hi, we are visiting from the http://humanrescuesdog.com/ bog. As a full time working couple with a 7 month old mini schnauzer pup, we obviously think otherwise. Roy gets two small walks in the morning and one long walk in the evening including park time. We live an active outdoor life and involve him in most of our excursions. I think he actually prefers being alone during the week days and catch up on his sleep and rest. 🙂 However, we did invest time and effort to make him this independent. We took some time off work when we first brought him home to help settle in. We had a pet minder and dog walker come in alternate days for the first few months. Slowly we phased the minder out. The walker still takes him for two walks a week. He loves her and has his regular friends. What pups need is quality interactive time with their owners.
    So dogs can live an ideal happy life with full time working owners. It’s silly for a rescue organisation to have such a criteria. If I were you, I’d be very pissed. 😉

    • Thank you for visiting and commenting. I haven’t actually applied to adopt yet (I am not in a position at present) however everything I have read looks like it would just be a straight forward “no”. I agree that I shouldn’t just be able to walk in an take any dog, for example I think a puppy would be out of the question until I could devote a lot more time but I think for the right dog….!

Looking forward to hearing from you....?!

